Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hot End Cooling with Heated Chamber

Posted by TFinleyosu 
Hot End Cooling with Heated Chamber
November 20, 2014 12:36PM
I'm curious if you need to change the cooling techniques if you use a heated build chamber. If you're blowing 50-60°C air over the heat sink instead of 18-20°C ambient air, I can imagine this is going to impact the performance of the hot end. If so, what performance related issues will come up? Will the hot end start clogging up because it starts melting too early? Should the top of the hot end be as cool as possible (with a water cooled option or something), or will that start to effect the temp of the hot end and cause problems too. I know it's a balancing act, but I'd like to hear some advice before I "learn the hard way"

Can someone help clarify this for me?

Cheers
Re: Hot End Cooling with Heated Chamber
November 20, 2014 01:38PM
Depends on what you're printing. I assume it's PLA, which I have no experience with.

ABS in a closed chamber worked fine for me. The cooling was less efficient, but the only reason why I cooled my PEEK part of the J-head was because I didn't want any heat to creep up to the X-carriage.

I imagine that if you do this with PLA, you would need to get colder air in from outside the box, but with PLA you don't really need to print with an enclosure, so it would be a waste of time trying to do that winking smiley

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
November 20, 2014 02:05PM
Every single heated build chamber I have seen that went over 50c people used either forced air cooling, or water cooling. I am investigating forced air through a silicone tube. Hopefully the silicone tube will withstand the 60-70c range I plan to experiment with. However I will try my luck with no cooling at all. I run my hot end with no cooling now, and prefer it that way. If I can get away with no cooling at all it will stay that way.

My Personal Blog. Build blog.
[engineerd3d.ddns.net]