Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Generational Degradation

Posted by fgrams 
Generational Degradation
April 26, 2010 05:14PM
Hello. I'm an accounting student at WSU Tri-Cities with an interest in open-source and emerging technologies. 3d printing is of particular interest to me. Your project seems like a workable approach to decreasing the cost and increasing the popularity of this technology.

RepRap machines cannot produce all of the parts for a new machine, so each 3d printer gets an infusion of new parts, right? I was wondering:

1) Could degradation in print quality over successive generations of machines from printed parts become a significant problem?

2) Would the new parts in each generation of machines compensate for the problem?

Thanks for your consideration.
Re: Generational Degradation
April 26, 2010 05:52PM
>Could degradation in print quality over successive generations of machines from printed parts become a significant problem?

Its not an issue. The machine has been designed completely adjustable and replicated parts are only required to lie within a certain tolerance. One of the requirements of operating the machine is that the size of produced parts *should* be measured to ensure their geometries lie within tolerance, if it doesn't some one of the machine parameters can be adjusted so that it does....

This fits in with traditional machine theory. Lathes have been making parts for other Lathes since the industrial revolution, and their capability has been getting better and better over time....
April 26, 2010 06:27PM
That makes sense. Tools are used to make tools, and all that. I suppose quality would even get better over time with design improvements and all that. Thanks!
April 26, 2010 06:29PM
Actually I think the printed pulleys are an exception to this. I think they will propagate any inaccuracy in the parent's printing to the child and get worse over each successive generation.