Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

quality of items

Posted by rapper 
quality of items
May 01, 2010 07:19AM
I'm a complete newbie to this area, but very excited about the possibilities. I have computer programming skills and also some experience in metal working, and I think it would be fun to build and use a reprap. I'm also considering starting with a makerbot version.
my question is about the quality of items that can be made with either system. I've seen in the pictures and youtube videos examples of objects. Many of them appear to be kind of cheesy looking, with rough edges. People have made useful items, like coat hooks and all. But if they look like old broken down plastic, would anyone really hang them on their walls? Are there ways to improve the final finish of made items? Sanding or painting or something? Thanks very much
Re: quality of items
May 01, 2010 09:03AM
[blog.erikdebruijn.nl]

Does anybody plan to build an open source Vapour degreasing machine? It could be a great addition to RepRap.
May 02, 2010 08:36AM
So, no one will vouch for a way to use this technology to create nice smooth looking objects then? Maybe it is premature with the current state
May 02, 2010 09:12AM
rapper
Maybe it is premature with the current state

And that after only your 2nd post. eye rolling smiley

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
May 02, 2010 10:59AM
Rapper: You might want to spend a little more time looking through Thingiverse before getting in everybody's faces about print quality. Your ignorance is showing.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/02/2010 11:33AM by Forrest Higgs.

-------------------------------------------------------

Hell, there are no rules here - we're trying to accomplish something.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.

Thomas A. Edison
May 02, 2010 12:39PM