Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Learning Sketchup

Posted by arty_the_ape 
Learning Sketchup
December 30, 2014 06:28PM
I'm completely new to 3d printing, would I be right in assuming that I need to learn Google sketchup? Would it be better to learn another program?
Re: Learning Sketchup
December 30, 2014 08:09PM
Yes, there are several packages out there but Sketchup is certainly a good place to start (and finish if your happy with it).

December 30, 2014 08:48PM
Sketchup is good to learn with.

You will need to download an STL saver from the Plugins section.
and you will learn how to design and the process in creating 3d printable files (eg. creating manifold parts)
otherwise it could slice wrong.

also you will need to repair the STL, just to make it perfect for printing.

also, the circles are made up of straight lines, and not curved lines...

I used sketchup, but i also use Solidworks2012
January 01, 2015 11:50AM
I'm just starting off as a 3D hobbyist, I'm not so keen to spend $$$ on a program that I would only use as a hobby.

How do I change the straight lines on circles?
January 01, 2015 04:27PM
you can change the number of segments that a circle is made of, but it will always be made of straight lines.

click and drag to make a circle, then type 36s+enter, then you can drag to final size.

this will create a circle made of 36 segments. you can use as many segments as you want, but using too many will become resource intensive and will become a major headache when trying to use things like the intersect faces function.

I think its best to use as few segments as possible without the straight lines showing up in your prints.
January 01, 2015 06:13PM
oh okay, I think I have a lot to learn, I'll try to get some sketchup books and see what I can make with it. I have tried to use Blender, but that thing is really hard to use and complex.
January 01, 2015 10:24PM