Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help with motor wiring and endstops (pics included)

Posted by arty_the_ape 
Help with motor wiring and endstops (pics included)
January 20, 2015 10:01PM
Hi,

I have searched this forum and used google to try to better understand the problem I am having. I am new to reprap so my knowledge is limited but I'm learning as I go.I hope a more seasoned reprapper can tell me where I;m going wrong. I have included hi-res images on imgur.com to help see what my problem may be. [imgur.com]

problem one (motors)

Some motors work, some stutter and others only go one way.

x-axis works very well, I can use pronterface to move the motor in positive and negative positions

y-axis motor stutters a few millimeters backwards and forwards then stops completely.

z-axis motors move up but not down. using pronterface command for negative movement is ignored.

extruder motor doesn;t move at all.

I have plugged in all the motors onto my ramps 1.4 board using the wiring diagram online. I've noticed my wires are different. but every motor is plugged in the same way.

can someone have a look at the images to see if there is a mistake i'm missing? please see gallery [imgur.com]

endstops.

I'm using the endstops from makerbot. As you can see from the images I've plugged in the cables with the colours corresponding to the board pin layout. Ive seen online here [forums.reprap.org] but this is the opposite to my wiring as seen again in the gallery [imgur.com] the forum posts go on to confirm that this drawn image is wrong.

with this config when I enter m119 I get

SENDING:M119
Reporting endstop status
x_min: TRIGGERED
x_max: open
y_min: TRIGGERED
y_max: open
z_min: TRIGGERED
z_max: open
>>>m119

does triggered mean this is good or bad?

I can provide more deatils if needed. This is my first week into buildiing this machine so I'm new to some of the practices that may be commonplace.

Thanks for reading.