Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Scaffolding?

Posted by Anna 
Scaffolding?
June 03, 2010 04:53PM
Hi, I'm new to this technology but excited to start working with it. I have a general question that I haven't been able to find an answer to, so I thought I'd throw it out to the community for help.

In regards to the parts that can be printed on a Mendel machine - how does it handle undercutting? I know in industrial 3D printers, they often have another material used for scaffolding that is then dissolved away when the part is removed. Is there a need for that with the Mendel machine? If not, how is it done?

Thanks very much for the advice.
Re: Scaffolding?
June 03, 2010 05:34PM
Hi Anna

I have not yet got a printer but I have spent over £400 so far on parts to build one...

To answer your question - I gather the overhang cannot be too big. There is a need for a support material but I am not aware of a working solution yet. I believe part of the issue would be multiple working print heads - one for the primary material and one for the support material. I have not seen any references to a working printer with more than one head, although I am sure there are people working on it.

I am sure someone will come with a clearer and more informed answer soon smiling smiley
June 03, 2010 06:25PM
45 degrees w/o support braces. 44 to be safe.
June 04, 2010 04:29PM
Hey, I just want to state one irrational idea, inspired by origami, because origami have a straightforward digital representation (folds).

* a computational model of how to fold paper to build origami structures. some form of algorithm to construct the respective support structures for a particular printing job.
* a machine to fold/cut/put stress on paper in order to build proper "paper support bases".
* some transport mechanism to move the support structure to the appropriate position.

in the beginning, the mechanical aspects could be dealt with by hand with no machinery involved.