Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heated bed help!

Posted by 3DPrintingNoob 
Heated bed help!
February 26, 2015 09:44AM
Hello everyone,

I am a complete beginner to 3D printing (but I have done lots of research!).

I have to create a 3D printer with a build area of 1200 x 700mm. Therefore, the build platform has to be even larger...and heated too. I would like to know how I can connect many heated beds in series or in parallel (whichever is best!) in order to heat the large build platform please. Also, what would be the best heated bed for this assembly?

Thank you in advance (Really!)

The Noob
Re: Heated bed help!
February 26, 2015 10:12AM
Parallel if you want to drive them at full power. I would experiament with a sheet of glass (I got mine from a scanner) a fiberglass cieling tile, and some nichrome wire (dead hairdryer) I found that 12v = ~40 feet of wire. Just attach it to the bottommin a zigzag pattern using pet tape or kapton tape wiring each section in parallel . Then buy a quality thermistor, and attach it to the underside of the bed. Put the fiberglass tile on the bottom, fiberglass up, and it heats up much faster. Make absolute certain that your power supply and ESPECIALLY THE DRIVER can take the current. Mine draws about 50 watts and it is a 175x150mm bed. As you have such a massive bed, I would buy 4 thermistors and put them in series/parallel configuration and spread them about the bed so a better average is measured, similar to this [sub.allaboutcircuits.com]
Best of luck on the build!
VDX
February 26, 2015 10:22AM
... with this building sizes and objects in this dimensions you'll get warping even with heating bed or ambient chamber.

For a thermo-cured glue dispensing project we had to build a heated bed with similar size - here we used a 40mm thickt T-slot plate, drilled through-holes between every 3rd T-slot and inserted long heating rods to get enough heat into the aluminium.