Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help me figure reprap and it's choices out!

Posted by L4nce0 
Help me figure reprap and it's choices out!
June 07, 2010 05:10PM
I've been drooling over the idea of making one of these beasts. Though when it comes down to it, I'm a poor college student. I'm working summers, I'm thinking of taking out a credit line and buying one. I may even make most of my cash back, as my CS friends want to rent usage time.

So I'm looking, the Mendel is listed as an approximate price of about 400. I can totally afford that! So okay, I try to go buy one. There's all these kits.. which are 300 dollars HIGHER then what reprap says it should be. That pretty much twice the estimated cost, what the heck.. Maybe they have extra features, like a laser cutter?..... probably not 300 dollars worth of extras..... I feel over whelmed trying to find the parts for this and getting an exact estimate. I cannot pay 300 dollars more for a convince.

At the same time you see makerbot kits for 700 - 900. (aside from overpriced plastic and a weird USB that is required and only in the delux kit... and not anywhere else on google..)

Is a mendel better or worse then a maker bot, 900 dollar kit? Any sources carry all the parts at a FAIR price? I tried looking on amazon for the components on the list. nada. I'll look more heavily later on the other listed sites...

Maker bot scares me in that it is charging 10 bucks per per LB. Online I see the rate is closer to 3 dollars per LB, making them extremely untrustworthy if they dare price gouge plastic that much..

Any help with this would be great!
Re: Help me figure reprap and it's choices out!
June 07, 2010 05:55PM
I'd love to see and answer to this question, I'm in the exact same position!
June 07, 2010 06:34PM
L4nce0,