Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Mendel90 vs Prusa i3 - which one to build

Posted by vorac 
Mendel90 vs Prusa i3 - which one to build
March 09, 2015 03:45PM
Hello everybody!

I'm new in the world of 3d printing and want to start building my first printer. After reading online for quite some time (and considering my passion for OpenSource projects) I decided I want a RepRap. So I started checking the models. At the beginning I thought Prusa i3 was the best option, then I read about the Mendel90 and doubts rose. Which one would you recommend?
If it's the Prusa, which variant? I read about Einstein, rework etc. but I can't understand the differences.
Do you think it is better to buy a kit or to source/build the parts all by myself? Consider I have no problem in building stuff and that I work with a CNC miller so I can machine everything is machinable!

Thanks a lot!
Re: Mendel90 vs Prusa i3 - which one to build
March 09, 2015 04:27PM
I went with the Mendel90 because I didn't like the use of threaded rod for the frame. I knew of others that had built Mendel printers and they always looked...imprecise. And that it could be a nightmare getting everything perfectly adjusted only to have something shift slightly if moved. Maybe my thoughts were unfounded, but I've liked my Mendel90. I did not buy a kit instead I purchased all the vitamins from my own sources or printed my parts. I probably ended up costing a lot of time and some money thinking I could do it better/cheaper in some areas.

Being new, if you want to get up to speed with a working printer going with a kit from a reputable source (if not from Nophead directly) of known good quality components is probably a good idea. If you don't want to go with a kit and want to make your own variations or tweaks, then going with a plastic parts kit but then sourcing your other vitamins may be a better option.
March 09, 2015 04:36PM