Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Some advise please

Posted by mjmeans 
Some advise please
March 26, 2015 01:43AM
Hello. I've been reading this and other forums and I see frequent posts about calibrating and problems with calibration and adjusting spacing screws and other issues. I'm new to 3D technology but I'm looking for something that will print the thousandth print with equal quality to the first without ever needing to fiddle with calibration or adjustments of any kind between the first and the thousandth print. In other words, I'm not looking for a hobby, I'm looking for a tool.

I want something that I can use to print ABS models up to 8x6x3" as simple as: 1) make or download the model, 2) load the ABS filament, 3) press the print button. ... (Yes, I realize that making [designing] a model can be a very time consuming process depending on the complexity of the model).

I'm fine with electronic assembly of the unit and I'm more than proficient with soldering. I have a hot air soldering station and regularly hand solder .050 spacing QFP chips to circuits cards. I have designed and built USB sensors and have over a million lines of software code behind me, but I'm not looking to add yet another "job" of time consuming fiddling with a finicky piece of equipment and wasted filament when something "doesn't work right". And the mechanical assembly instructions needs to be clear and complete without needing to do any research.

Is there any 3D printer design that fits these requirements?
Re: Some advise please
March 26, 2015 07:34AM
Buy an Ultimaker or a Makerbot.

Collective intelligence emerges when a group of people work together effectively. Prusa i3 Folger (A lot of the parts are wrong, boring !)
March 26, 2015 08:29AM
Zavashier
Buy an Ultimaker or a Makerbot.

I'd say Ultimaker, when looking at the two winking smiley

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
March 26, 2015 09:45AM