Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ULTRA-FAST reprap, project development

Posted by nasone32 
ULTRA-FAST reprap, project development
May 15, 2015 04:13PM
Hi community. advice: wall of text, don't be scared, it will be interesting.

I'm an electric engineer, with proven mechanical experience, i have access to all kind of exotic materials and coatings, plus 5 axis cnc with precision down to the micron.
i can also print polycarbonate myself.

I wish to develop a reprap made to push the limits of speed and acceleration, and i need your help to put down a plan.
all suggestions will be taken into consideration, fact is: i have a deep understanding of physics but i built only prusas so i lack some specific experiences.

it doesn't have to be cheap, but the costs must be weighted with intelligence.
printer style: 200x200 bed, PLA as printing material to make life easier on the extruder, single extruder.
so let's start.

AXIS SYSTEM - i think the best choice here is like ultimakers, so XY moving on the same plane and Z for the plate. otherwise i'm going to shake the printed parts around and could detach from the bed. it can be improved by reducing the inertia further on X-Y. rods are part of the moving weight, alluminium holed rods (12mm external, 8mm hole) weight 1/3 of 6mm steel rods. anodized hard plating with iglidur bushings (igus). we can save at least 150 grams this way.
the extruder carrier could be printed in polycarbonate.
i know people had troubles with igus bushings, but it's due to the hole size they are inserted into. i have used them many times.

ELECTRONICS - i don't want to be limited by electronics, so arduino Due would be my best bet. (Marlin4Due + RAMPS4Due). do you think arduino Mega with 1/4 microstepping can do, for the first tests?