Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to calculate correct voltage for stepper driver ?

Posted by Nikki81 
How to calculate correct voltage for stepper driver ?
May 24, 2015 11:33AM
How do I calculate the correct voltage for my stepper drivers ? I have had a look at the wiki but I don't understand(I am not good with numbers) is it amps x inductance = voltage ?

Thanks Nikki
Re: How to calculate correct voltage for stepper driver ?
May 24, 2015 11:43AM
If you have "r100" shunt resistors on your driver ( most common) you can skip the math and say 0.4V equals 0.4 A
-Olaf
May 24, 2015 11:54AM
Thanks looking at one of my spare driver boards the r1 says 303 ?

Thanks Nikki
May 24, 2015 12:14PM
Not R1,
it´s one of the resistors marked on my picture ( red or blue box )
-Olaf
Attachments:
open | download - shunt_location.jpg (95.6 KB)
May 24, 2015 01:25PM
Thank You there are r100 ill get tweaking !

thanks Nikki
May 24, 2015 03:16PM
Nikki81
How do I calculate the correct voltage for my stepper drivers ? I have had a look at the wiki but I don't understand(I am not good with numbers) is it amps x inductance = voltage ?

Thanks Nikki

Nikki,

Close, right stadium, wrong seat.

For DC, it's Volts = Ohms * Amps. For AC, it gets a tad more complicated but boils down to Volts = Impedance * Amps. Impedance is a function of the frequency applied working against inductance, capacitance, or a combination of the two. When in full step mode, it is just pure DC with the stepper in current limit.