Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printed Mendel AParts

Posted by Adman234 
Printed Mendel AParts
July 30, 2010 01:58PM
I am going to buy a makerbot and plan on paying off the $1000 by selling mendel parts. However, I am new to this.
Any suggstions?

What type of plastic should i use?
Should I use a Heated platform?
Whos Mendel CAD drawings should I use?

How much should I charge and where can I most easily sell these?

Again, I'm new to this so please be nice smiling smiley

Thanks everybody

Adam
Re: Printed Mendel AParts
July 30, 2010 02:30PM
Any suggstions?

I'd suggest a http://reprap.org/wiki/WolfStrap-English or the ubercool but woefully undocumented http://reprap.org/wiki/Eiffel.

What type of plastic should i use?
PLA, probably

Should I use a Heated platform?
I don't think that's necessary for PLA.

Whos Mendel CAD drawings should I use?
Hmmm, try http://reprap.org/wiki/Mendel/Files#STL
or http://reprap.org/wiki/Parameterized_Mendel
(RepRap doesn't really do "official".)

How much should I charge and where can I most easily sell these?
"Market Rate" is sort of a social construct. Adrian and spacexula occasionaly set for $100 or so. I think Mendel sets run ~USD200-300 on ebay? For selling, I'd recommend The "Official" RepRap Marketplace

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.

Remember, you're all RepRap developers (once you've joined the super-secret developer mailing list), and the wiki, RepRap.org, [reprap.org] is for everyone and everything! grinning smiley
July 30, 2010 02:47PM
Adman234 a lot of people try to do that. Makerbot is hard to keep operational. It's not quite that easy to buy a makerbot and get it to break even. That's ALL I have tried to do, and I barely stay even, much less make the money back from the makerbot.