Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Calling All Painters and Home Renovation Experienced Personel

Posted by redhatman 
Calling All Painters and Home Renovation Experienced Personel
August 26, 2015 04:43PM
Hello fellow RepRappers!

I am a college student who just finished moving into a brand new development of college student housing. In an effort to cover the walls with various posters and pictures, the idea came up to allow friends and visitors to sign a wall in our place. Before doing this and making a HUGE and costly mistake, I would like to hear your input or experiences.

The wall is just a standard sheet rock type interior wall, with standard wall paint (not sure what base).

We would like to allow people to sign the wall using sharpie markers.

One roommate is entirely against it because he claims he has seen this before with other renters and the landlord ended up replacing (and of course charging them) to replace the entire sheetrock which made up the wall. The story behind that was essentially that the sharpie marker would continue to bleed through, and no matter what, the paint just wouldn't cover the markings.

In talking to another guy (who does painting for a living) says that it is possible to cover, as long as you coat the wall with some sort of "stain remover" paint which would be applied on top of the marker, followed by the fresh layers of paint.

The moral of the story is we are okay with having to paint, even if it's 9 coats. We would like to avoid having our security deposits taken, and huge charges occurring.

So, with that being said, what do you think? Any experience, recommendations, or products to recommend would be great!

I appreciate all of the input, thank you in advance for your help!
-Pat

- "Project Locus" - Mostly all printed parts, Corexy, Bowden Setup, 12x12 heatbed, ~1 cubic foot build volume
- SeeMeCNC Rostock Max V2
VDX
Re: Calling All Painters and Home Renovation Experienced Personel
August 26, 2015 05:55PM