Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Designing from scratch. Is it worth it?

Posted by CianMcGeough 
Designing from scratch. Is it worth it?
September 03, 2015 05:05PM
Hi All,
I've just joined the Reprap forum, I am very interested in making a Prusa on a budget(under €400/$500). Unfortunately I have very little experience, but I am motivated and willing to learn. I was just wondering whether anybody else has been in this position before.
Did you buy a cheap kit from China? Did you source all the parts yourself and assemble? Did you discover another 3d printer design which appealed to you? Did you follow instructions from a particular site?
Which upgrades are the most important for good, consistent prints?
I know I'm asking a lot, but I would really appreciate it if somebody could point me in the right direction.
Many Thanks.
Re: Designing from scratch. Is it worth it?
September 03, 2015 07:19PM
Don't buy a cheap kit. They are all crap.

You can build from scratch. I did it and have a much better printer than anything I've seen available for 5X the money spent. Be prepared to spend a lot of time searching for parts and learning how to use machine tools. The time spent studying designs and components is time well spent, unlike the time you would spend trying to get one of those $300 kits to print anything.

Find your local makerspace and get help.

Details of my printer can be seen by clicking the link in my signature, below.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
September 03, 2015 08:52PM
i've been looking at building one my self, but, i took the buy a cheepy route, and use that to make parts.. in one sence it worth it just for the exsperience, and of course going through the teething faizes... already screwed a glass bed up and melted a teflon liner..broke a bit in a nozzle etc..ehhh yu know lol.