Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Artifical Muscles

Posted by zzorn 
Artifical Muscles
October 18, 2007 01:25PM
Hello,

I just recently ran across RepRap, looks like a very interesting project!

Regarding the discussion about creating motors with the RepRap,
one futuristic solution for that might be to use artificial muscles
instead of electromagnetic rotating motors.

Some materials contract when a current (or in some cases chemical) is applied
to them. Some of these materials are polymers, and could maybe be deposited
with a 3D printer (I'm no expert in the area thou). Others are composed of
more expensive and difficult to obtain components such as carbon nanotubes.

Artificial muscles still seem to be at the research stage, with no clear winning
technology yet, so it is not probably feasible in the near future, but eventually
it could allow building things like walking robots and many other applications
directly with a 3D printer.

Wikipedia has this to say about shape changing polymers: [en.wikipedia.org]

Here's some instructions for creating artificial muscles,
unfortunately some of the links seem to be dead: [ndeaa.jpl.nasa.gov]

Here's an approach where bucky-ball paste is deposited in 0.25 mm
thickness at room temperature: [www3.interscience.wiley.com]

Quoting from that article:
"Printable electrical devices[1,2] are attractive for the development
of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) including
sensors, switches, and micromachines. In particular, printable
actuators that can infinitely operate in air at low voltages
would give a breakthrough in the design of miniaturized
mechanical devices. Conjugated polymers can be regarded as
potential materials for the fabrication of such soft actuators."
"Herein we report the first dry actuator that can be fabricated
simply through layer-by-layer casting with
VDX
Re: Artifical Muscles
October 21, 2007 02:32PM
Hi zzorn,