Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New person here! (and a few questions)

Posted by Caliber Mengsk 
New person here! (and a few questions)
September 16, 2010 04:19AM
Ok, so I'm new here. (... and this is going to be a very long post) I've been watching reprap for a while (I think a few years) and have just now decided to post some questions. I've recently been getting into electronics. I'm working with arduino a lot now (planning on making lighting kits for models that can have a bunch of blinking lights and fading in and out lights, etc) and I know that the arduino platform has been used before for rep raps, so I'm looking at possibly building a reprap, with improvements that would lower the cost of at least the electronics.

Thing is though, I'm really quite new to all things electronics and I basically just know how to light led's and switch some relays. (I've also messed a little with accelerometers {was doing a VR kind of project, actually worked except for looking left and right... I didn't get a gyro for that XD} and wiimote input, but just messed with those a little) I've not messed with stepper motors at all, and I have very little clue of how the whole system works with reprap, but I know that I would be willing to do things like print parts and such for others.

Lastly, I've still got no clue why it's so darn(that is an r and n) expensive. I've been looking and looking, and the only 100% complete kit I could find was $800. Me being currently jobless (have around $500 saved up at the moment though) and I can't afford any kits like this. I'm fine with putting in the hours, as long as it's cheap. I'm just wondering is there any way to make it cheaper for people like myself.