Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Question about resolution

Posted by justinoperable 
Question about resolution
September 22, 2010 03:58PM
Hi all, I'm new and wanted to preface my question by exclaiming how awesome reprap and its community is. I am really excited about the possibilities and implications of personal fabrication.

I've never used a reprap before or seen an object made by one. They seem from some pictures to have lines and a certain texture to them. I have seen a lot of development threads about exciting topics like making more parts reprappable, recycling common plastic, turning reprap into a 3d scanner etc. but I haven't seen anyone discussing increasing the potential resolution of reprap. One reason I asked is I wanted to create a creative commons licensed boardgame and sell pieces and thought it would be cool to provide the .stl files for people to print their own if they had the desire but I think the pieces may contain too much detail.

Am I wrong in my assumptions as to the textural quality of reprapped objects? What is the resolution like now? how small a detail can you achieve? Could you for instance print something like this:

Heroquest_MiniSkeleton1.jpg&width=300

about 3 inches tall with a one inch base? Is molding always gonna be a better solution?

I just can't shake the idea of how cool it would be to have wargames like warhammer with reprapped pieces so you could actually play such games without having to fork over hundreds of dollars to games workshop et al.
Re: Question about resolution
September 22, 2010 04:32PM
It's not so much a question of resolution, but rather build method. you can get higher resolution by using a smaller orifice and higher gearing. anything hanging in air, like the scythe, is hard with thermoplastic extrusion. it would require lots of support structure.

A powder bed machine would be much better at building these types of models.
September 22, 2010 06:51PM