Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Electrical Upgrades

Posted by 750magna 
Electrical Upgrades
February 01, 2016 12:48PM
While I'm quite comfortable making mechanical upgrades to my printer, one area that I feel in over my head on is when it comes to electrical. While I'm no expert, I feel like my printer (Trinity Labs Aluminatus) could use some electrical upgrades in order to make it truly fit in with more industrial class 3D printers. The problem is I'm not exactly sure where to start, or what the best resources would be for me to learn how to do an electrical overhaul.

What electrical related upgrades have you guys been making to your printers and what do you feel has been well worth the investment?
VDX
Re: Electrical Upgrades
February 01, 2016 01:07PM
... 32Bit-controller, better stepper-drivers+steppers, better extruder, heated bed ...

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
February 12, 2016 11:52AM
I've got a heated bed and I've upgraded to an E3D hotend. I'm considering getting a bulldog extruder or something else all metal that will be extremely reliable as well. I came across a company that makes a closed loop hybrid stepper that would be a very nice upgrade, although they're pricey enough that I'm going to need to wait for a big enough project to come along that I can justify them.