Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

mk 8 extruder stop printing

Posted by blro 
mk 8 extruder stop printing
February 05, 2016 04:14PM
I am new to 3d printing and have a Prusa I3. I am to the point where I can print but the extruder stops extruding filament even though the motor is still turning. I have disassembled/assembled many times (no obstruction), adjusted the tensioning screw, checked nozzle size in repetierhost, etc. I just replaced the nozzle and switched to PLA from ABS. The problem continues: prints great then starts "air printing".

I am to the point where I would like to move away from this extruder to a e3d v6, but in order to do so I need assistance with how I can mount the e3d extruder to my current rig. My X-Axis looks like the attached two pictures. If someone can provide a link to a setup that could be applied to my rig for mount the e3d that would be great. Also a link to a genuine e3d v6 would be appreciated.

TIA
Attachments:
open | download - re_extruder2.jpg (22 KB)
open | download - re_xaxis.jpg (17.6 KB)
Re: mk 8 extruder stop printing
February 05, 2016 06:58PM

I am new to 3d printing and have a Prusa I3. I am to the point where I can print but the extruder stops extruding filament even though the motor is still turning.

So what happens to the filament? It either has to go somewhere, or the gear grinds a semicircle out of the filament, or the motor stalls and the filament doesn't move.
February 05, 2016 08:13PM