Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Short story long...... Getting into 3Dprinting

Posted by Gaou 
Short story long...... Getting into 3Dprinting
February 06, 2016 03:28AM
Guys i needed to write this post, as after some months i own my first cnc i would like to share my experiance, share my hapiness, thank the community and some more people, and also apologize to some other.

The long story shorting starts back on 2001 where i started my carrier as an interior designer. from kid i liked a lot the mechanical stuff and was and still i am getting experienced from robotics, and how can i say i was a tech freak without the right education so all these ( cnc and robotics) looked like a supernatural to me . I had my beautiful work as a designer and in every one work in a way i was using cncs for some furniture. At that time the people that could have done these things ( mostly wood in my case ) to you in athens were few. In athens there was something like 1 or 2 cncs for wood on 2002 and the one that i have worked with could only work x and y axis. the z play was like 10mm or less.

At that time i saw a future for greece and especially athens in cnc and my work. On 2009 where the things for me and ( for most greek that was dealing with the construction ) was still ok i decided to take that root . I knew it would take time and i could see that the economy could be collapsed in a while.

To get this even sorter and come to the point on 2011 i realized that there wasn't for me or for my country the economy to support this kind of things ( i had already payed some plans of a 5axis beautiful wood - aluminum working cnc). And a cnc that cuts and draws wood you know how it costs. So i then spotted the reprap projects and felt in love.