Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best model

Posted by ivancdp 
Best model
March 26, 2016 11:43AM
Hello guys,

I'm new to the RepRap world, but not new to additive manufacturing. I'm an engineer and in college I got to work with top-of-the-line machines from 3D Systems, Stratasys and the former Z Corp, involving FDM, SLS and SLA technologies.
For a while now I've been wanting to put my own 3D printer together. I decided to take a look at the RepRap, only to find dozens of different models. On the main page, it says that the state-of-the-art project is the Snappy printer, since it has the most printable parts. However, reading reviews, I saw that the printer's body should be nice and sturdy.

What do you guys think would be a good alternative for someone who wants to build a nice printer? I've read that the Delta models have nice finishing.
I know this is a hard and subjective question. I just want to hear different opinions from more advanced users than me. I thank you guys!!!

Ivan
Re: Best model
March 26, 2016 05:51PM
If you've worked with good industrial printers the majority of reprap designs will disappoint you. The vast majority of hobbyist machines are designed first and foremost to be cheap without regard to print quality (such as the all plastic machine you mentioned), with the implied result. That said, there's no reason you can't build a machine that's better. You have to decide what your goals are then choose a design that's most likely to allow you to achieve them.