Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Introduction and first 3D printer from Folger.

Posted by albion 
Introduction and first 3D printer from Folger.
March 29, 2016 12:35PM
Hello everyone, just stopping by to introduce myself. My name is Craig and I've been working in IT for over 20 years at a small Tool & Die shop. I'm pretty fluent in all things IT and most things CAD/CAM, but I've just recently started playing with micro controllers and all their magic. My latest project a garden sensor array with irrigation control has been sitting dormant waiting for an outdoor enclosure. And thus the reason for my foray into 3D printer land.

Thank goodness I lurked here for a while because I was going to purchase from 3D Printers Online. But after reading forum posts I decided on Folger Tech instead. There was just a lot more good being spoken John_F. Anyway, I purchased a Cloner 3D dual extruder kit. I know I probably should have gotten the Prusa i3 first, but I really wanted the dual extruders. Maybe a mistake for my first build, but I'm always up for a challenge.

Probably a newb question but... why are some of the ABS or PLA 2.2lb spools only $12 and others are upwards of $50? Is it a better plastic or just marketing and flashy stuff around the same product?

Thanks

-Albion (Craig)
Re: Introduction and first 3D printer from Folger.
March 29, 2016 04:39PM
in part better mixture of plastic and pigments, where those £12 spools some brands are good and gd enough for prototyping of a prototype!!. "Excelvan doing the rounds on ebay in the uk prints ok for its price" some just want stick. but the budget filament has improved some what but colours are still weak compared to the more pricey stuff matching the pantone cat. of colours with better/bigger centre spool so it aint like feeding a tight coil at the end of the spool.

PUBLIC HEALTH WARNING: when opening those budget sealed spools do so in wide open spaces!.
April 06, 2016 12:41PM
Build Log: Step 1