Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How do you check electrical connections before turning on?

Posted by teh.stig 
How do you check electrical connections before turning on?
April 16, 2016 11:16PM
Hi,

I've just built my first rep rap. I'm to the point where I've connected the wires, but have not plugged in or turned on. Is there a way I could test everything first and if so what's the proper way of doing that? I'm a novice tinkerer, just getting my hands dirty with stuff by building a Prusa from scratch.

Thanks
Re: How do you check electrical connections before turning on?
April 16, 2016 11:28PM
You test things one at a time. Check each motor, check each end stop, each thermistor. Once each is working, connect everything and power it all up.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
April 16, 2016 11:34PM
Sorry for stupid questions but how exactly do I test it. Can I use a volt/amp meter or something like that, and if so, how do I do that?
April 16, 2016 11:44PM
You connect one of the listed items at a time, power up and check that it is working properly. Of course, you're going to visually inspect wiring as you connect each thing.

I guess you'd power up the controller board without any of the other connections and make sure you can talk to it via USB or make sure the LCD module is working. You won't be able to heat up the bed or the extruder unless the thermistors are working. The extruder motor won't turn unless the extruder is hot. When you connect power to the controller board, make sure you get the polarity right. When you connect/disconnect motors, power down the controller first or you risk blowing up the motor drivers.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
Electronic components run on magic smoke. What is important is to keep this smoke inside it. SO if you hear "puff" and see the magic smoke (it smells bad too) escape, it is dead. Happens once out of two when you connect randomly.