Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Servolulu: Polulu-compatible servo motor driver

Posted by LoboCNC 
Re: Servolulu: Polulu-compatible servo motor driver
May 02, 2016 02:37PM
etfrench
One more question, are you planning on using 2 oz boards? The traces seem kind of small for 2 amps with a 1 oz board.

I could go with 2oz boards, although the maximum length power trace is about 0.2" for a 0.024" trace, which works out to about 4 milliohms for 1oz copper. At 2 amps, that's only 0.016w power dissapation, which I'm not too worried about.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/02/2016 02:52PM by LoboCNC.
May 02, 2016 02:55PM
Don't mind me, I'm just starting to learn how to design PCBs smiling smiley
May 02, 2016 04:53PM
Hi, Jonathan from PCB:NG here - note that although we haven't launched it yet, we can do special pricing at quantity 24 and 120. Happy to answer any questions y'all may have!
May 02, 2016 05:02PM
Exciting development. I hope we can use it soon on our printers.
May 02, 2016 05:11PM
drmaestro
Exciting development. I hope we can use it soon on our printers.
Soon smiling smiley
This is my work from more than a month ago with a different DC motor with on-shaft encoder (very weak, used purely for verification of ATtiny85 code at that time):
[www.youtube.com]
May 03, 2016 02:50AM
Dumb question:
What makes a DC motor a DC Servo motor? Is it just the encoder or number of poles or???
May 03, 2016 03:05AM
o_lampe
Dumb question:
What makes a DC motor a DC Servo motor? Is it just the encoder or number of poles or???
Basicaly normal motor with some sort of feedback control (even potenciometer and comparator works OK in RC servos...).
May 03, 2016 03:14AM
Cant say how much i LOVE this project, I initially stopped my simular project, as I thought it wouldnt be any good using the drop-in module.. step+dir -> dc motor
And the plan was to make a new controller board with dc in the heart, and a STM32xxxxxx as the mcu..