Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z axis limit switch working in reverse way

Posted by intertech 
Z axis limit switch working in reverse way
April 28, 2016 11:14PM
Hello.
I am new to 3d printers and have purchased a He3D Prusa xi3 kit.
After assembling and reviewing many related blogs and homepages, I managed to make the step motors and heaters work.
And the steppers work in correct directions,after jumper and trimmer settings.
However, there is a big problem.
Although I have wired the Z axis limit switch correctly and uploaded the firmware
from Arduino as supplied, that switch works in the reverse way.
It should stop the Z axis motors when the Z axis is moving down and the switch is pushed.
However, when I move the Z axis up and down with Cura's heatbed leveling function, the motors
don't stop when the limit switch is pushed while Z axis moves down and the head keeps moving
down,finally scratching the heatbed aluminum tray.
The Z axis motors stop when the Z axis limit switch is pushed while the Z axis moves UP, however.
I have checked RAPS 1.4 wiring images on the Web and ,according to them, I have correctly
wired and connected the Z axis limit switch and the steppers are connected in the correct polarity
as they rotate in the correct direction.
I have also checked configuration.h of the included firmware files but haven't seen anything particular;
the settings seem to be correct.
So what might be the cause that causes the problem?
Thank you.
Re: Z axis limit switch working in reverse way
April 28, 2016 11:49PM
no idea what their documentation says, but this sounds like you have the z endstop plugged into the max endstop plug and not the min endstop plug

ie your z endstop is like this

If this is the case you need to move the z endstop cable one pin to the Left to move it on to the z min endstop position
Re: Z axis limit switch working in reverse way
April 29, 2016 07:30AM
I don't have this hardware/software but in an effort to help:-