Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I need help with buying a 3D printer

Posted by aaronhance 
I need help with buying a 3D printer
May 17, 2016 11:48PM
Hello everyone! I'm a uni student and I'm starting a personal project with some friends, we're going to be building a drone. I've checkout the densities of plastics that 2D printers use and it's all good, so now I'm looking to buy my first 3D printer. I have a limited budget(£300 GBP) and I need one print axis to be at least 200mm. Now I've found this [www.reprap.cn] , but I'm on the fence about buying something cheap from china. Will the one I found be ok, if not what would you recommend? Thanks for reading!
Re: I need help with buying a 3D printer
May 18, 2016 03:22AM
I'd avoid Delta printers like that one. You'd be better off with a cartesian printer that has a print bed of at least 200mm in one direction. I'd also go with a heated bed. Investigate PETg as a material for printing drone parts, PLA is too brittle (and heat intolerant), while ABS warps when printing larger parts.
May 18, 2016 12:22PM
As Nebbian said, you are probably not looking for a delta printer, I have a delta and it's very heavy on calibration and can be a bit overwhelming for a first printer. You would be best looking at a Mandle design, the Prusa i3 is pretty much bullet proof. When sourcing these kits it's important to keep in mind the quality of the parts, as an example, in my design process I tested almost 20 different bearing manufacturers before settling on my supplier.

I recommend a Prusa for ease of use and functionality, moving from there you can find a kit that fits your budget or source yourself.