Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Robot arm for Repraping?

Posted by eranglr 
Robot arm for Repraping?
November 19, 2010 07:14AM
Hi there.
I'm an industrial design student (from Israel).

I got a nice Robotic Arm link -
http://www.theoldrobots.com/scorbot.html
and thought about a crazy idea..

Place an extruder instead of it Grips, (somehow) make it "speak" with reprap host software (I think it's REALLY complicated, since one first need to calculate, using Trigonometry, the position of the tip of the extruder.

I think it is possible, but I don't know where to begin with...

btw - the company claim it has a Repeatability of: +- .05mm (+- 0.02") (will this be sufficient for 3d printing?).

ANY ideas and/or thought will be greatly appreiciated smileys with beer
Re: Robot arm for Repraping?
November 19, 2010 07:28AM
In that the Mendel only has a 0.1 mm positioning accuracy this should be better than what you need.
This will be much more expensive than building a Mendel but it would certainly look cool...

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
November 19, 2010 07:31AM
Well - considering I got it free (birthday present from a very good friend) - It won't be so expensive smiling smiley
November 19, 2010 05:26PM
I would still look more towards using the arm to pick and place parts so that small assemblies can be built. In particular, SMD devices can be mounted on pcbs using an arm like that.

The next question is can we redesign the arm to make it printable by a reprap?
November 21, 2010 07:08AM
Why replace the grips?

Why not simply make an extruder head that the grips can pick up?

This gives you another option: Make more extruder heads, and a place to store them next to the work area. Each can be preloaded with multiple types or colours of plastics. You can also heat each one up only when needed (ie: just before they are required).