Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Can I manufacture a 1mm nozzle using 3 D printing?

Posted by matrix1781 
Can I manufacture a 1mm nozzle using 3 D printing?
June 20, 2016 03:44PM
Hi

I am a newbie here and dont know much about 3D printing. I was wondering if a nozzle with 1mm diameter and 0.8mm length can be manufactured using 3D printing. Conventional nozzles are made out of tungsten carbide and it is difficult to manufacture such short lengths in that manner. Can 3D printing achieve this?
Re: Can I manufacture a 1mm nozzle using 3 D printing?
June 20, 2016 04:11PM
Which nozzles are tungsten carbide? I was aware of a project to make a tungsten carbide 3d printer nozzle but I am not sure it will get off the ground [dddmaterial.com].

Almost all nozzles are brass, good balance between thermal conductivity and machinability. Stainless steel is available to cope with carbon reinforced filaments which chew through brass nozzles.

If you want a 1mm nozzle take a 0.4mm nozzle and a 1mm drill bit and get stuck in.

Simon Khoury

Co-founder of [www.precisionpiezo.co.uk] Accurate, repeatable, versatile Z-Probes
Published:Inventions
June 20, 2016 04:23PM
matrix1781
Hi

I am a newbie here and dont know much about 3D printing. I was wondering if a nozzle with 1mm diameter and 0.8mm length can be manufactured using 3D printing. Conventional nozzles are made out of tungsten carbide and it is difficult to manufacture such short lengths in that manner. Can 3D printing achieve this?
If you are actually trying to make something from tungsten carbide, the two processes that will work well are grinding and Edm (wire and or sinker). If all you want to do is make a hole in an existing piece of tungsten carbide sinker or hole popper type Edm will do the job.
VDX
June 20, 2016 06:28PM