Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

School Student

Posted by MathewDale 
School Student
December 06, 2010 01:14PM
Hello Everyone

If I could just take a small amount of your time to read this post, it is not spam and i am not selling anything. I am a student that attends stretford grammar school, I have been going for the last 7 years and am currently going in the upper sixth form. I am going onto university to study aerounautical engineering and I have a very keen eye for designing and building things. I currently am taking a-level product design. We have a technology department at our school and it isnt very modern. We can not do this due to funds so this means we have limited equipment and so not being able to develop some key skills. We have been looking at 3-D design work and looking at the process of designing. We came across the REPRAP Darwin . We went crazy over it and put a lot of research in, we came to a conclusion that it would cost around €500 (£423.71) which is what the technology department dont have, currently we have over spent nearly £1000 for materials.

So we got a group of students together from the all the years in the school who are interested in Desing and Technology and we had a long chat about it, including teachers and headteacher. As we do not have sufficient funds and also we learnt that the Darwin and the 2nd generation of the printer can replicate itself, we decided that one of us would try and find a person that would kindly create the parts on there machine and donate them to the school.

So we ask that if anyone will donate any parts to the school of Stretford Grammar. If parts are donated we would like the donator to come to our school one day to show them the difference it will make, if you wouldnt want to then a letter of appreciation will be mailed to you.

Mathew Anthony Dale

(Stretford Grammar School)
Re: School Student
December 06, 2010 01:31PM
Or can anyone please offer some advice.
December 06, 2010 02:01PM