Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

"CAD" files vs CAM files - a designer's plea

Posted by Nether10 
"CAD" files vs CAM files - a designer's plea
January 13, 2011 08:14AM
I'm a mechanical engineer that does design work. When I come across something cool like RepRap the first thing I want to do is download all the CAD files and have a look. Thus far, trying to do that has been frustrating at best, misleading at worst. And I think I know why.

The problem seems to be that most people will call just about any damned file generated by a computer a "CAD" file. Generally, when I see a "CAD" file link, it takes me to a bunch of STL files, which are only useful to stereolithography-type machines. They have no use to CAD users, in terms of "CAD" being defined as Computer Aided Design.

The key word there is "aided" - a human is still doing the design work, but using the computer as a tool. So CAD files should be files that are accessible and useful to humans, which I would classify as DXFs as the most basic, and going up through DWGs, IGES, STEP, Parasolid (X_T), and on up to native CAD package formats (SLDASM and SLDPRT for SolidWorks, for example).

So what would one call an STL file, or equivalent? I'd call it a CAM file - Computer Aided MANUFACTURING, which is really what it's all about.

Long shot here - any chance that we can agree that files useful to humans are CAD files, while files used by/useful to only computers are CAM files?
Re: "CAD" files vs CAM files - a designer's plea
January 13, 2011 08:59AM
You won't get any argument from me on this point although I have modified STL files but ONLY because the source files for the object be it AOI, OpenSCAD, IGES, STEP or whatever was not posted.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
January 13, 2011 09:36AM
Where are you seeing STL files labelled as CAD files?