Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PETG - for what do you use it?

Posted by jbe_m4p 
PETG - for what do you use it?
October 24, 2016 06:10AM
Hi,

im new to PETG for printing. I know its foodsafe, should I print my own lunchbox now?

For what do you use it?

Best regards,
Julian spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
Re: PETG - for what do you use it?
October 24, 2016 12:02PM
I use it anywhere where I need greater strength than I can get from ABS or PLA. Its much denser which is also useful for some things. I really like to use it for printer parts, and although its not as heat tolerant as ABS I am using it for an x-carriage in an enclosed printer which runs a chamber at around 60 deg C. No problems so far.

It is much stickier and more adherent to the nozzle than ABS/PLA and it strings more, you have to be careful of blobs on the print which might harden and then get hit by the nozzle. But the really good news is almost no shrinkage and it sticks to a wide range of build surfaces very well (I print at 80 deg C bed, and 220/210 hot end - but experiment with the brand you have). Generally I find the surface finish less good than abs/pla. But if I want to print a beautiful object I use PLA, for strength PETG, midway between (or needing to be high temperature capable) ABS.

Be aware PET and PETG are not the same thing and PET requires higher temperatures to print (I haven't tried it but would like to get hold of some of that recycled water bottle PET to try).