Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Flexion vs Flexion for E3DRetrofit kit

Posted by PDBeal 
Flexion vs Flexion for E3DRetrofit kit
October 30, 2016 01:51PM
So, I've had some limited success printing Ninjaflex filament with a direct drive E3D Titan extruder on my CoreXY, but ran into an issue with it yesterday. So I've started looking at this Flexion extruder and I'm willing to pay for it if it'll work, but I noticed they offer it with an E3D Retrofit kit to use it with a V6 hot end. I've had some bad experiences with those Chinese clones and since then I won't use anything but the official E3D V6 hotend, but the distance between the drive gear on the Flexion extruder and the hotend on the V6 would be rather long compared to the Flexion hotend version. Has anyone had any experience with the Flexion extruded either with the E3D V6 Retrofit kit or with the Flexion extruder hotend?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 10/30/2016 01:52PM by PDBeal.
Re: Flexion vs Flexion for E3DRetrofit kit
October 30, 2016 05:39PM
That all looks very fancy (and expensive), but what problem did you have with a titan that you think this will solve for you? I see titan has a fully supported filament path, so should work just fine with flex filaments (as does a well setup Greg/Wade).
October 30, 2016 08:30PM
I have come to the conclusion, the titan doesn't feed the flexible filaments consistently. I've calibrated the titan with PLA and that all works great. However, when I try to calibrate it with ninjaflex, it only extrudes 25% of what it was supposed to. Increasing the steps doesn't produce more filament either. Trying to increase the tension results in flexible filaments squeezing out of the captured path right under the teeth on the drive gear.