Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pedigree

Posted by epatel 
Pedigree
February 04, 2011 06:58AM
Hi,

A newbie here.

I have started to investigate this exciting project. I love self replicating/referencing systems, a great fan of Richard Dawkins and his book The Selfish Gene. (I even called my company Memention, a play with the word Meme).

Well, as there is a notion of Parent and Child shouldn't there be place for a pedigree? A relations tree of the individual repraps?

Cheers!
Edward

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/04/2011 06:58AM by epatel.
Re: Pedigree
February 05, 2011 03:28PM
yes, there are some people who provide lineage certificates with the printed parts, they usually cost more. Not sure how common the practice is still.
February 05, 2011 04:36PM
Adrian does it! smiling bouncing smiley

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
February 05, 2011 05:23PM
8 months ago I bought parts from Adrian when they were going for $400+

I have been recently selling kits that include a certificate of lineage tracing my parts back to the original Darwin. I think it is interesting where parts came from. I wonder how many children are from the original Darwin compared to makerbot prints. I add the card as novelty and personally think it does not matter where you parts come from as long as they are good quality parts. I like to include the card also to show how my print quality is. This card is a check and balance system to show who you should and should not buy from. I think all people that sell parts should include a business card with information about the parts.

Machine printed on:
Date:
lineage:
Plastic:
Software:
Person that printed the parts:
Nozzle size:

These cards could be mounted to the machine. These cards could show the evolution of Reprap.

Bad parts = Possibly bad prints & lots of problems.

Mark
February 07, 2011 05:49AM