Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Going out of my mind with Jams

Posted by cobrasvt1999 
Going out of my mind with Jams
December 09, 2016 07:45AM
Hello all!

So I am relatively new to the 3d printing world, and so naturally, I gots some problems... :p

I just finished assembly of my new makerfarm pegasus 12 a few days ago and have finally started working with it and figuring out how to get the bed leveled and how different parts of the system works. I have been able to make a few prints without problems, but recently when I try some larger printers (about 6 hrs) the filament jams somewhere around the halfway mark (give or take a few hours). Naturally this is annoying as hell, and I have lost about 4 attempts to this.

My attempted fixes so far are:
re-leveled the bed. re adjusted the endstops (if anything it may be a bit too high now just to keep the end from mashing)
Rebuild the extruder (had to clean the hobbed gear of all the nice shavings)
tightened the springs holding the filament against the hobbed gear
rebuild and checked the hot end

I am using E6b hot ends with a .35 nossel. The filament that I am using is Esun 1.75mm green abs filament. The temps I am running are 230c for the hot end and 110c for the bed.

When the jam happens, the stepper keeps on going and eats a hole into the side of the filament, this naturally means every time I get to take apart the extruder to clean the hobbed gear before I get to try again. However, if I push on the filament slightly it begins to feed properly again. It does seem to feed straight out of the hot end and is not deflected by anything on the end of the hot end.

Any ideas I would greatly appreciate,
Thanks!
Re: Going out of my mind with Jams
December 09, 2016 08:49AM
Check your fans and check your filament feed.
December 09, 2016 08:53AM
So far as I can tell, the filament is feeding as smooth as I can make it. Also, cooling fans for the hot zone radiator seem to be working as best I can tell.