Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What makes a good starting point?

Posted by Anonymous User 
Anonymous User
What makes a good starting point?
December 12, 2007 02:45AM
I find the concept of a rapid prototyping robot fascinating, and I would love to dive in headfirst to building a RepRap myself, but for a few obstacles. The most pressing would be financial. As a starting point I was thinking about salvaging a few stepper motors from defunct printers or such, and setting up the appropriate control hardware (stepper controllers and hardware and software to interface with a PC). Ideally whatever I start out with would be something I could eventually scale up to build a full functional RepRap. I think this would probably give me enough of a project to keep me busy for a few months, while also not stressing my starving student lifestyle.

Practically speaking, I'm not an engineer, an electrician, a computer programmer, or a machinist but I like to think I have a good working knowledge in each of those areas.

Does anyone have advice on what a good starting point would be? What sort of hardware should I keep my eye out for (ie would an Arduino-based controller be a good place to start or will I get myself into trouble)? Am I setting myself up for disappointment? Thanks (in advance) for any advice you can lend!
Re: What makes a good starting point?
December 12, 2007 04:00AM
Chancey,

I have taken apart a bunch of printers to salvage the stepper motors. They are fun to play with and if you get the really old printers then they can be somewhat useful. The Arduino is sounding like the way to go. Besides, if you are into this kind of project stuff the arduino can be used for other things too.

As far as a RepStrap is concerned...McWire is my choice because it is cheap. Also, consider bolting things to walls and benches to save on frame components if money is tight. You can do a lot with very little if you really cut corners and pinch pennies.