Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Reprap Printer, Calling it, the KittyCat!

Posted by zastin17 
New Reprap Printer, Calling it, the KittyCat!
December 28, 2016 02:41AM
So I have bean working for several days on a entirely self designed 3D printer. It uses a moving bed style y axis and 8MM lead screws for the z axis. I decided to strictly stay away from google, and just use my mind to make it. Meaning the printer was entirely designed using just my mind and things I already know about 3d printers, Except for finding dimensions of bearings and seeing if parts where even available. This printer is not complete, so some things may still be missing. The entire printer is made of 2020 extrusion rods and should theoretically be extremely sturdy. I chose to make the x axis rods horizontal and not vertically positioned because my thinking was there would be no vertical backlash like on my prusa i3. i'm only 17 and have no engineering job experience, I am self taught, so if I am missing something important, or if there is an obvious problem with the current design. please tell me. Constructive criticism is welcomed!

More updates to come.

Here is the KittyCat Printer as I have it now in AutoDesk inventor: Also if this is posted in the wrong section please move it.

Re: New Reprap Printer, Calling it, the KittyCat!
December 28, 2016 04:40AM
Looks pretty clean! smiling smiley

You've not drawn any corner brackets? Maybe the z-motor bracket could be redesigned to act as lower corner bracket?
With a little wider bed frame you can skip the lower horizontal strut and combine both. That way all four lower horizontal struts would be obsolete.
December 28, 2016 05:54AM
I tried that, here is the result: