Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Quality of Parts

Posted by johnjkjk 
Quality of Parts
February 14, 2011 10:13AM
Hi,

I'm new to reprap and 3D printing and am keen to get started, but have a few questions about the the quality of the actual prints.

I'm part of a small model club and we build all kinds of scale models, ranging from working vehicles with gears to figures and objects. Mostly handcrafted using various methods, we sometimes use resin casting/moulds which gives good surface finish.

What is the quality of reprap prints:
-Surface: Is it consistent or porous and does it need sanding?
-Strength: If appropriate materials are used, are gears etc durable enough for repeated use?

Many thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2011 02:11PM by johnjkjk.
Re: Quality of Parts
February 14, 2011 12:09PM
The reprap makes parts by squooshing a string of pastic on top of previously squooshed plastic. That string is nominally .5mm across and is squooshed to between .5mm and .3mm tall.

Thus the surface finish if you look at it closely it's made of squooshed plastic strings.

And you can't make details smaller than 1 piece of string.

And the geared extruders (both Adrian's, Wade's, and herringbone designs) are printed using a reprap, and those plastic gears are in service for long periods of time without apparent difficulty.

--
I'm building it with Baling Wire
February 14, 2011 12:32PM
I like to show this sequence of photos to people who ask about print quality.

if you just need gears to make something move, and the gears are going to be hidden, then they can be used as-is. if you want to print something like a train car, and make it realistic, you'll need to work it quite a bit.

but printing itself it a bit of an art, and it takes a lot of calibration and refining your machine in order to print at it's very best.

another great example: Gothic Cathedral play set
February 22, 2011 05:19AM
jgilmore, Buback,

Thanks for your reply!