Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Best 3D CAD Software for Highschool, Middleschool students

Posted by owism8 
Best 3D CAD Software for Highschool, Middleschool students
February 16, 2011 09:48PM
Hello.

I am a teacher at a middle school.

What are your suggestions for the best (easy to use, user friendly, easy to learn, dynamic) CAD software out there.

I saw google sketchup the most intuitive, but was confused if it offers ability to draw things which are of the size to be printed on the REPRAP. Second most convinient i saw was FreeCad.

Anyone have real experience with free 3d cad software kits?

Thanks for your time and input. Great community all!
Re: Best 3D CAD Software for Highschool, Middleschool students
February 17, 2011 02:43AM
I use OpenSCAD whenever I can (because I am an old PovRay user and the language is almost identical) but Google Sketchup is certainly a FREE, powerful and easy to use program - and yes you can draw things in millimeters and export to STL (with a plugin that you have to download). Sometimes you need to use another program such as netfab Studio Basic to make the part manifold, but it works.

If the object is not manifold then some software has problems with it.

Do the following:
Download the netfabb Studio Basic software.
Install it.
Double click on an .stl file (netfabb Studio Basic should start and open the file).
Click on the RED PLUS in the TOOL BAR.
On the bottom right click on the "Apply Repair" button.
Click on "YES" when the "Remove old part?" confirmation question appears.
Select from the main menu "Part - Export part - as STL (binary/ASCII)" and specify the pathname.

Bob Morrison
Wörth am Rhein, Germany
"Luke, use the source!"
BLOG - PHOTOS - Thingiverse
February 17, 2011 08:03AM
Thanks for the advice.

I noticed the plugin doesn't work for Sketchup 8, it only works for Sketchup7.

If anyone has the file to install 7, please let me know.
February 17, 2011 08:19AM
Download Google Sketchup 7

Bob Morrison