Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Electronics for a new design?

Posted by SatorCodex 
Electronics for a new design?
January 22, 2017 05:25PM
Hi folks!

Im fairly new to the 3-d printing world. But not new to electronics (well, been a while..) and fine mechanics.
Have a small workshop with a watchmakers lathe and some other stuff.

I got my self a Anet A8 for Christmas. I new it wouldn't be the best quality in the world..
And. its not.
In my mind. the thing is close to crap.. But still, works better than one can expect from one! Still, it does what
It was intended to do. Learn 3D
Have been a professional large format, 2D digital producer/printer dude for close to 20 years now. So
3D is getting me exited again! Feels cool!

Anyway.
Im started to fiddle with my own design. Mechanic wise. I have 2 designs on the works.
But have been looking around and researching electronic bit. mainboard, steppers etc.
But, its not really clear to me, what the differences are.

So. what would YOU go for today. and why??

Cheers to all #D printing dudes and dudhttes!! smileys with beer

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/22/2017 05:27PM by SatorCodex.
Re: Electronics for a new design?
January 22, 2017 05:49PM
State of the art is duet wifi; if you don't mind the price you won't go wrong with that. The general consensus is that 32 bit (usually arm) processors are the way to go, but I'm still making do with the previous generation using Chinese manufactured mega2560+ramps boards. It requires some care and attention to get the most out of them, but the value proposition is unbeatable (i.e. it's dirt cheap).
January 22, 2017 07:02PM