Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Complete novice, been given a printer

Posted by Jeva 
Complete novice, been given a printer
January 30, 2017 08:15AM
Hello everyone, as per the title I am a novice in the world of 3d printing (used some at university but never had my own) but a friend of a friend was clearing out their garage and had no room for their printer, said friend knew I was interested and so I was given it. Despite days spent reading the wiki I cannot seem to get it to work properly. For reference, it's a ramps v1.3 board running Repetier controlling a single extruder with a heated bed, 3mm PLA.

Issue 1, when starting a print, the head will not go to the proper height. It homes fine, but whenever it goes to start a print it stops about 1mm too high. I can adjust for this with my slicing settings by adding a negative z offset, but I can't figure out the cause.
Issue 2, the extruder seems to run far too slowly when printing, to the point that it simply does not extrude. I have tried adjusting the temperature, changing the layer height, slowing down the xy speeds, but nothing I do makes a difference.

I'm just about ready to give up, any advice on how to get this thing to run properly would be greatly welcomed.
Re: Complete novice, been given a printer
January 30, 2017 11:40AM
What printer is it? A few pictures can help too.

Issue 1 is most likely caused by the endstop being too high up, changing the Z offset likely won't help as it will still hit the endstop and won't be able to go further. Issue 2 is most likely the steps per mm set in firmware, check this is correct. If it is, does the extruder have enough current? Calibrate the extruder, and when you know it is pushing in the right amount of filament you can start working out the cause of the problem.