Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Re-Arm, any experiences?

Posted by sungod3k 
Re: Re-Arm, any experiences?
March 05, 2017 11:18PM
I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but all of the voltages on my trimpots dropped by .2 volts when I switched from the mega to the Re-Arm. Once I got my X and Y moving properly, my rather heavy Z bed would only move down, not up. With the arduino mega, the trim pots were reading 0.57 volts and working good. Now with the Re-Arm, the Z pot was reading 0.39v. I thought that was odd and checked the others, and they all had similar values. I cranked the Z axis back up to 0.6v and the Z bed moves up just fine now. I'm not an electrical engineer, anyone know why the voltage would drop that much switching?

Edit: Wild guess, but the ratio of my stepper readings of 0.39v/0.57v is awfully close to ratio between the new boards logic voltage 3.3v/5v of the Arduino. Is that a correct guess?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/05/2017 11:50PM by Pheneeny.
March 06, 2017 01:56AM
You can find out by probing the VIO pin on one of the drivers.
March 07, 2017 09:39AM
How is everyone controlling their Re-Arm?

Do you have a graphical LCD attached to it? Using the Ethernet adapter? Or using a computer connected up using Octoprint / Repetier host?

Interested to hear how you guys have set it up.
March 07, 2017 09:54AM
PC via pronterface is quite reliable. I have found octoprint works but getting it to connect takes a few goes.

I have a reprap discount full graphics display, but not very impressed theres quite a lot of screen real estate and little of it used.
-cycles between E0, E1 temps and Bed Temps - not on screen simultaneously
-fan speed isnt shown, just a fan icon spinning when fans on.

Web interface, I've got it working installed (268Mb!!!) version from smoothie site, not really used it yet.

Simon Khoury

Co-founder of [www.precisionpiezo.co.uk] Accurate, repeatable, versatile Z-Probes
Published:Inventions