Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Starting a new 3D printer project. Would really appreciate any input. smiling smiley

Posted by flydeprutten 
Starting a new 3D printer project. Would really appreciate any input. smiling smiley
March 05, 2017 02:08PM
I have long wanted to build my own 3D printer, as the concept intrigue me, and I really want to learn it from scratch.

I have planned to use the V slot wheels for both x, y and z axis, and I will use belts for both y and x. For the z axis I will use a lead screw on both sides.

I will use a E3D v6 hotend and a arduino / RAMPS as controller. I will use 5 nema 17, 17HS8401 stepper engines with a holding torque of 0.52 Nm. The rest I have not quite made up my mind on. I have attached a picture of my design (the drawing officially is not finished, and I haven't decided on the height yet). For size comparison, the bed is 214x214.

I have an engineering degree, but not a mechanical engineer. Therefore, I would really like to hear your input on my choices, and my design. Are there problems with it, that I should be aware of, or is it complete nonsense? :-)

Re: Starting a new 3D printer project. Would really appreciate any input. smiling smiley
March 05, 2017 02:40PM
So far so good...now tell us a little bit more about the Degree, did you get your monies worth?
Re: Starting a new 3D printer project. Would really appreciate any input. smiling smiley
March 05, 2017 03:32PM
That design looks like it will do the job, consider beefing up the bracing on the sides, there is no such thing as a frame that's too stiff. Also have you thought about linear rails such as MGN-12H type? They are better than roller wheels and not that expensive now. The chinese ones work fine.

Simon Khoury

Co-founder of [www.precisionpiezo.co.uk] Accurate, repeatable, versatile Z-Probes
Published:Inventions
March 05, 2017 04:47PM
MechaBits
So far so good...now tell us a little bit more about the Degree, did you get your monies worth?