Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

War against ripples

Posted by icefire 
Re: War against ripples
March 24, 2017 06:26PM
@Mechabits ok cool yea I thought not, just sounded odd. Thanks for clarifying. Dont mistake real for fake and vice versa, easily done.

Flex3Drive.com
March 24, 2017 06:50PM
unless of course your watching a politicians lips move, then you know it's all fake.
March 25, 2017 11:16AM
DjDemonD
Okay maybe I'm being slightly pessimistic but Marlin is frequently quoted as only being able to generate 40khz step pulses from a mega/ramps board. So you're using repetier? I've little experience with it, but to do the moves you quoted that's 75khz step pulses, so that seems reasonable from what I'm told it's code is more efficient.

But on a delta is a pure z move really a good test? Whilst moving up/down is the worst case in terms of maximum step pulses to be generated, the processing requirements to calculate the movement are very little, all motors move by the same amount to achieve pure z movement. Any other movements require a lot of square root calculations which load the processor . How fast can that same machine (on a dry run) do a circular spiral vase, this is a more useful test, given that you almost never do a large pure z move when printing?

I've been away from home for a week, and just got a chance to do that test. I made a cylinder with a perimeter of 100 mm, and printed it in spiral vase mode. The problem I ended up having was that the SD card couldn't be read fast enough to keep the buffers full, and I ended up having to reduce the number of polygons in the slice to get the speed to stay at a consistent 100 mm/s. This wasn't a good test of top speed of the motors.