Better slicer/controller
April 21, 2017 08:13AM
I'm new to 3D printing. I was hoping that I could print fast but that's far from reality.

I wonder if there's a slicer/controller that models optimal tool path, acceleration/deceleration and speed based on weight/stiffness of the gantry while limiting max seed/acceleration based plastic/nozzle/temperature used?

Right now everything seems so manual and I am beginning to understand why people own so many 3d printers - each one is probably tuned for specific job.

At the least, is there a controller that uses accelerometer/strain gauge attached to the frame to know when gantry is exceeding it's stiffness or to detect resonance and decease acceleration automatically?
Re: Better slicer/controller
April 21, 2017 08:26AM
Nope. not that I know of. You just have to manually dial the settings in for your printer and go from there.
April 21, 2017 12:59PM
Hi Newbob, that's not a bad idea that... It's quite doable, could be done with Piezo discs bonded to the frame. Might take a bit of calibration, we were also thinking of reading analogue data from piezo z probes to detect rough surfaces on previous layers and generate slow down in feedrate.

The counter argument is that since 3d printing isn't really done with dynamically varying settings within one print, once you know your machine's capabilities you just print with settings a little way below that point.

3d printers currently either lack (or don't need, depending on your point of view) any form of closed loop control of motion let alone print quality.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/21/2017 01:02PM by DjDemonD.

Simon Khoury

Co-founder of [www.precisionpiezo.co.uk] Accurate, repeatable, versatile Z-Probes
Published:Inventions
April 21, 2017 04:21PM
Hi DjDemonD