Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hictop Prusa i3 Auto-Home Issue

Posted by DkBronco 
Hictop Prusa i3 Auto-Home Issue
May 08, 2017 11:06AM
Hello All,

I just recently bought a Hictop Prusa 3dp-18 and through all the screaming frustration of handling those tiny screws with my large mitts, it's actually been a blast to build. I've always liked putting things together and figuring out how they works since I was young but this is my very first attempt at something on this scale.

The printer is complete however when I begin the calibration process I run into an issue:

At first all seems normal when I use the Auto-Home feature the print head first moves across the x-axis until it gets to the limit switch and stops, then the print bed moves backwards along the y-axis and again stops when it hits the limit switch, finally the print head moves down the z-axis and it hits limit switch and stops. Here is where the issue occurs, now the print head moves back the other way away from the limit switch and gets about half way across the x-axis and it stops and a buzzing type alarm goes off and does not stop until the machine in powered off. It isn't hitting anything and the wires aren't getting caught on anything.

Any idea what could be causing this and suggestions on how to fix it? Be nice haha, its my first time, everybody has to start somewhere.
Re: Hictop Prusa i3 Auto-Home Issue
May 09, 2017 04:34AM
I assume you are using Marlin as Firmware.
Going to half the x and/or y axis after homing usually comes from this part of code in configuration.h (see below) --> You would have to Change Line 935/936 to end movement on another Position.

Where is the Buzzing type Alarm comming from? - is it the Buzzer at the Display, or maybe one of the stepper Motors? - Maybe the one on Y-Axis? --> If yes, check your Maximum travel Speed Setting - maybe it is very very slowly approaching the Point at halfway Y-Axis - and the buzzing Sound is its movement.