Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Precision Piezo Z-probe Now available.

Posted by DjDemonD 
Re: Precision Piezo Z-probe Now available.
April 14, 2019 12:18AM
I can't home Z. It says G28 Z Forbidden on the LCD. M119 returns a triggered on the z, even if the blue light is not on.
April 14, 2019 04:55PM
I've been using the Orion successfully for about five months. Earlier today it started behaving erratically, it would only trigger after it had pushed on the bed a couple of mm's.
I tried adjusting the sensitivity, but eventually I got to a setting where it sometimes triggers without touching the bed and sometimes pushes the bed at least 2mm down on the springs. This tells me this is not a calibration issue, but rather something wrong with the hardware...
April 14, 2019 06:05PM
anything change?
piezos like to be moved rapidly.
does tapping on it during a Z home stop it?
what is your homing speed?
April 18, 2019 01:57PM
Moriquendi
@CodeBuster,

Sorry if I appeared to ignore your question, I didn't intend to. Have I talked with you about this issue on another platform? It can be hard matching up email addresses and forum names so forgive me if we've already covered some of this.

Unfortunately I have no experience with Repetier firmware so I'm afraid all I can do is run through verifying with you that the output of the Piezo board is as expected. Hopefully, other people with more experience of Repetier will be able to help you with the firmware setup.

With the pullup enabled, measure the voltage of the pin on the RAMBo, without the piezo PCB plugged in, should be 5v
Plug in the Piezo PCB, red LED on, measure the voltage of the SIG pin on the piezo PCB, should be 5v
Turn VR2 to illuminate the blue LED, measure the voltage of the SIG pin, should be 0v (or very close)
Turn VR2 back to illuminate the red LED, tap the piezo and check for blue LED flash.