Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

1 Axis Plankton Feeder

Posted by herring_fish 
1 Axis Plankton Feeder
March 16, 2011 06:47PM

I am a design engineer by trade but I know nothing about electronics. I have read a lot about programming off and on but have not done enough of it to be able to author programs. I can however cobble and edit if I am pointed in the right direction.

I want to build an automatic Plankton feeder system. I'm building a bank of 6 foot tall, 6 inch diameter clear plastic tubes that hold the cultures in water. I need to add liquid food and change-out water through 1/4 inch tubes via two peristaltic pumps. I looked at switching with solenoids but the small volumes of viscous feed would end up getting clogged. Instead, I thought that I would build a simple, light weight gantry like slide system with a toothed belt. I can easily design that part but the electronics, software, firmware and the like is all new to me.

Since different cultures of plankton would have different requirements. I would want to be able to set and reset the times and amounts that the different culture towers get supplied. Of course the number and location of the towers might change as well.

This made me think that I needed an external text file of some sort, to feed a flexible generic program that could be edited and loaded for recompiling when changes are needed.

This led me to think that I should use a piece of G-code software like RepRap. I used to use G-codes so I think that I could right it manually since there would just be goto(s), speeds(optional), turn on and offs and DoLoops for only six stations. Of course there would also be start times to contend with.