Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Fast Speed Filament?

Posted by ceccuz 
Fast Speed Filament?
July 01, 2017 06:11PM
Hi guys, I've found out my self assembled Kossel can print as fast as 600 (and probably more) the problem is that none of the filaments I have can keep up.

I would like to experiment with high fast printing so which filaments do you use for this?

Cheers,
Francesco
Re: Fast Speed Filament?
July 01, 2017 11:12PM
ceccuz
Hi guys, I've found out my self assembled Kossel can print as fast as 600 (and probably more) the problem is that none of the filaments I have can keep up.

I would like to experiment with high fast printing so which filaments do you use for this?

Cheers,
Francesco

Theoretical max. speed. I'm no expert but from my observations in my printers I'd check if your printer can melt your current filament fast enough to keep up with your movement speed. You may need something like an E3D Volcano.

Printers: Heavily redesigned TwoUp with E3D V6 and Robo3D R1+ with Chimera/Cyclops
Re: Fast Speed Filament?
July 02, 2017 09:04AM
Yes your issue will be max melt rate/max extrusion volume. Even with a volcano with a 40w heater (e3d supply a 30w heater - I bought one last week and it's actually 6.2 ohms so only 26w at 12v) you won't get more than 6-8 mm3/sec through it with a 0.4mm nozzle. You can in theory get to about 15mm3/sec with larger nozzles, the back pressure is much lower, the cross sectional area of the nozzle orifice is so much larger but you'll be limited to 40-50mm/s head speed (0.8mm nozzle) as so much more filament is able to exit the nozzle per second.