Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

MKS gen1.4 compatibility and changes.

Posted by chromaglow 
MKS gen1.4 compatibility and changes.
July 27, 2017 09:32PM
Hello all,
Newbie with some basic questions, please help!!

I have a creality Cr10 printer with a melzi main board. I would like to upgrade it with the board here
I'm interested in upgrading it for a few reasons, the first being noise as this board can take tmc2100 drivers with stealth chop mode.

I understand when I change the board the the existing LCD screen will not be compatible so I need to know if this screen and scroll wheel will work "plug and play." I feel stupid for asking this question as I'm usually super resourceful but as I'm new to this type of compatibility checking and don't know what web resource to use to do this kind of work
If this screen will not work, what will?

My next question is about firmware.
Assuming the screen above is compatible, my understanding is that I get my new board plug it into my com port, download the firmware from marlin and send it to the board like I would any other arduino project.
Next I would plug my new tmc2100 driver boards in (after setting the voltages on them to .6...still not sure how to do this as the selector is on the bottom of them), physically swap out the motherboard put everything back together and fire it up to enjoy silence.

The ACTUAL 2nd question here is how do I figure out what changes I need to do to the marlin base code to make sure everything works in my creality and what are those commands?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I am just getting started in hardware and arduino.

Cheers
Chroma
Re: MKS gen1.4 compatibility and changes.
July 28, 2017 02:52AM
chroma